top of page
Who are we?

ScotPEN's membership is made up of individuals working in a broad range of sectors: universities and research centres, cultural and heritage organisations, public bodies, science centres and freelance. Many of our members work in roles that support public access to and involvement in academic research. Others have a focus on developing or delivering public-facing events and programmes.

What do we do?

The network came together in 2017 with the principal aim of providing peer support. By sharing expertise, good practice and challenges, we can facilitate collaborative opportunities, raise the profile of public engagement and act as a central point of contact for funders. We also share and promote Scottish projects and their outcomes.

How do we do it?

Our wide geographic spread means online communication is really useful. The ScotPEN Facebook group and JISC list are our regular means of sharing information and keeping in touch. We also have an active Twitter page where we circulate opportunities and best practice. We use these to hold online meet-ups, canvass opinion and share learning from events of interest to our membership.

We hold occasional social gatherings and an annual meeting for public engagement professionals working in higher education and research. Wherever possible, we open up our own organisations' events to the network.

Roles and Responsibilities

Read more about ScotPEN's working groups.

Reports and Resources

Download our reports and other resources:

2020 Annual gathering report

2019 PEPs' meeting report

2018 PEPs' meeting report

2017 inaugural meeting report

ScotPEN's 10-step evaluation guide

Privacy Notice and GDPR

Please see our privacy notice for information on how your data will be processed.

ScotPEN is supported by funding from the Wellcome Trust's Institutional Strategic Support Fund.

Barbara Gorgoni, University of Aberdeen

Erin Hardee, University of Dundee

Fiona Murray, University of Edinburgh

Dawn Smith, Edinburgh Napier University

Alison Caldecott/Becky Hothersall, University of Glasgow

Mhairi Stewart, University of St Andrews

Sam Langford, Glasgow Science Centre


The current ScotPEN committee members are:

bottom of page