The ScotPEN Wellcome Engagement Award (SWEA) is inviting applications from researchers holding a Wellcome Trust research grant. 

SWEA is a pilot scheme that funds Wellcome grant-holders in Scotland to engage the public with their research in innovative and sustainable ways. It replaces Wellcome’s Research Enrichment: Public Engagement funding scheme. You may apply for between £5,000 and £100,000. The end date for this award will be the same as your main Wellcome grant. Post-doctoral researchers funded under your Wellcome research grant and playing a substantial role in delivery of the public engagement project should be named as Co-Applicants. Inter-institutional collaborative applications are encouraged within the SWEA pilot scheme.

This first call has now closedPlease note there will be a further call - provisional closing date: 27th March 2020.

You are encouraged to contact your central public engagement team early in the process for guidance and support with your application. Your application must be submitted by email to your locally situated central public engagement contact, who will forward it to the SWEA panel for assessment. If your locally situated central public engagement contact is not listed below please contact for further information.  

This is a competitive call and applications will be assessed by a panel of engagement experts and researchers, with peer review invited for larger projects. Guidance notes and an application form are provided. For additional information on eligible activities and costs, please contact your public engagement team.

The SWEA team is organising a series of training and networking events to support applicants. Further information will follow but we are keen for any input regarding training needs. More information will be posted here and on our events page. To feedback on training needs or other queries, please contact  

Central public engagement teams in Scottish universities and research institutes:


University of Glasgow: 

University of St Andrews:

University of Dundee:

University of Aberdeen:

University of Edinburgh: or for enquiries from CMVM

University of Strathclyde:

Scottish Rural University College:

Herriot Watt University:  

Edinburgh Napier University:

Glasgow Caledonian University: 

We recognise this list is not exhaustive; please contact to have your team included here.


© 2018 by ScotPEN. Proudly created with